Skip to content ↓


PSHE - At Riverside we follow the Jigsaw Scheme


At Riverside Primary School, we promote a secure understanding of social, personal and health education. We provide learning experiences that enable children to develop the necessary skills to participate in their local community and within the wider society. We intend to raise the profile of PSHE and British Values within our setting through many ‘real life’ experiences both on and offsite. We aim to ensure our PSHE and British Values aspects of learning are at the heart of our teaching and not simply taught through stand-alone lessons.  



Children are taught PSHE on a weekly basis in their classes using the ‘Jigsaw’ scheme of work. Jigsaw covers a variety of themes termly including: ‘Being Me in My World’, ‘Healthy Me’ and ‘Dreams and Goals’. Themes are further explored and reinforced in whole school assemblies. Although British Values are not taught as discrete lessons, the relevant skills are taught throughout PSHE as well as the wider curriculum. Pupils select a School Council to lead various events throughout the year, linked to raising the profile of these aspects of learning. Classes use weekly Picture News to discuss current events in the news and discuss British Values that it links to. We have a strong focus on providing the children with firm foundations that they can build upon in their future, this includes holding a jobs fayre for Year six pupils to inform them about different carer options and how to achieve their own goals. We use "Circle Time" in class as a means to discuss current themes and issues. Through this, children are taught how to seek their own resolutions to problems and issues. We also explore themes related to PSHE in our daily whole school and class assemblies. 




By the end of Key Stage Two, all children are fully immersed and understand the importance of PSHE and British Values and the effects it can have on life in and out of school.

PSHE is assessed by the children’s learning outcomes in comparison with the National Curriculum and ‘Jigsaw’ outcomes. We also use our knowledge, skills and understanding framework throughout all age groups. Termly, learning books are reviewed and evidence is collected to ensure children are receiving a full PSHE curriculum and are achieving a wide variety of skills in these areas.



The Jigsaw Puzzles (Units)


Jigsaw is structured into 6 half-termly Puzzles (units) with the whole school studying the same Puzzle at the same time.
The Puzzles are sequential and developmental from September to July.


Being Me in My World

(Autumn 1)


Celebrating Difference

(Autumn 2)


Dreams & Goals

(Spring 1)



(Spring 2)


Changing Me

(Summer 1)


Healthy Me

(Summer 2)


For more information on this scheme please follow the link below:


Please find our PSHE Overview for the academic year 2020-2021 attached below. Each of the core themes are covered through "puzzle pieces" in each unit of work. Children are able to discuss their ideas and reason in a safe and secure environment. 

Jigsaw PSHE Curriculum Overviews (by year group)


Relationships & Sex Education

An important part of the Jigsaw PSHE programme is delivered through the 'Relationships' and 'Changing Me' puzzle pieces which are covered in the summer term. 


There are four main aims of teaching RSE:

• To enable children to understand and respect their bodies
• To help children develop positive and healthy relationships appropriate to their age and development
• To support children to have positive self-esteem and body image
• To empower them to be safe and safeguarded.


Each year group will be taught appropriate to their age and developmental stage. At no point will a child be taught something that is inappropriate; and if a question from a child arises and the teacher feels it would be inappropriate to answer, (for example, because of its mature or explicit nature), this information with be shared with you by your child’s class teacher. The question will not be answered to the child or class if it is outside the remit of that year group’s programme.


Below is a summary of RSE coverage within the Jigsaw scheme for each year group:
• Foundation Stage - Growing up: how we have changed since we were babies
• Year 1 - Boys’ and girls’ bodies; naming body parts
• Year 2 - Boys’ and girls’ bodies; body parts and respecting privacy (which parts of the body are private and why this is)
• Year 3 - How babies grow and how boys’ and girls’ bodies change on the outside as they grow older
• Year 4 - Personal hygiene, body changes in girls and menstruation
• Year 5 - Puberty for boys and girls, and conception
• Year 6 - Puberty for boys and girls and understanding conception to birth of a baby


Further information about how the school approaches the teaching of Relationships and Sex Education through the Jigsaw programme can be found within the documents listed below:

RSE Documents

RSE Letters